Coming up with writing

I have figured out that it’s actually difficult coming up with stuff to write on your own. The other day I watched the movie “The Grand Budapest Hotel”. Granted, I watched the movie because of my obsession with Adrian Brody and not because I would come up with something philosophical to say about the movie itself, but I did think of something.

One of the characters pointed out that writers can’t just come up with stories to write on their own. The character said,

“It is an extremely common mistake. People think the writer’s imagination is always at work, that he’s constantly inventing an endless supply of incidents and episodes; that he simply dreams up his stories out of thin air. In point of fact, the opposite is true. Once the public knows you’re a writer, they bring the characters and events to you. And as long as you maintain your ability to look, and to carefully listen, these stories will continue to…seek you out, uh, over your lifetime. To him, who has often told the tales of others, many tales will be told.”

This is an excellent example of a writer having writer’s block. Something I can totally relate to. I, however, don’t tell the tales of others. What I would like to do is tell my own tale, the problem is I don’t know how. I can’t figure out the most appropriate way to do so. I would like for characters to be brought to me, fictional ones related to real events. This way, people can have lessons from my writing even if it’s fictional. Occasionally my writing might seem biographical. At least I can come up with philosophical things to say from movies. That could very well be my outlet for finding a character to write about. I’ve often thought about script writing. That’s kind of what the character was getting at in my opinion. Through script writing one tells the tales of others. Of course I haven’t done that yet, but it’s just a thought. An outlet for my ever growing imagination regarding everything I have wanted to say but couldn’t until this point.

Leave a Reply

