Birthday reflections

So today was a rather interesting day. Lately I tend to have ups and downs in my days, more downs than ups. Today was an unusual up. I contemplated a lot today. First,  my day started out by being dragged to the grocery store to run errands because well, I’m a grown-up and apparently I have to do grown-up things rather than sleep all day. As I was leaving the grocery store, I happen to spot two monks in orange attire. I figured out they were monks because I’m smart like that and can spot religious attire when I see it. These monks happened to be minding their own business doing whatever they needed to do at the grocery store and everyone else around them were also minding their own business. It made me wonder that if monks can go to a grocery store without being accosted for who they are, so should Muslims. I’m a complete believer in the fact that everyone should be allowed to wear whatever they want and do whatever they want whenever they want. Unfortunately, that’s not always the case.

I, along with everyone else, have read so many things in the  news that it’s getting old and tiring very fast. I’ve read several differences in opinions. The support for Muslim rights on social media has been overwhelming. For this, I am grateful.

Today I also went out to dinner with my parents because my dad wanted to have an early birthday dinner for me. Before the dinner we said a prayer, akin to saying Grace before eating. We don’t usually do this, especially in public. Given the timing of the current climate that also got me to thinking about being able to do what we want in public. I think my dad really just wanted to say the prayer because it was celebrating my birthday. Ever since the dinner I’ve been thinking about where I am and where I want to be and how it’s affecting me at this age. Birthdays kind of make people reflect on where they are in life and I’m no exception. I really hope the current climate gets better and we can feel safe to say prayers in public before dinner.

In reflecting on where I am I’ve had to contemplate where I want to work a lot. Ultimately, I’ve always wanted to live overseas. This could very well happen in the near future. I just need to get my act together. At this age, you’d think I’d have my act together, but I don’t. Part of me wants to tell myself that’s OK. I  mean, Who Has their live together at 29? The key is taking baby steps. For one thing, I have come to the realization that I need to start being more grateful for my surroundings whether it’s having an expensive dinner with my parents or anything else. If I start being grateful again, I’ll be able to accomplish what I need to and that’s all that matters at this point.

Leave a Reply

